Scallop and Shrimp stuffed portobello mushrooms

Sunday night dinner this week was a bit different in that it was not held at our place. We decided to pack up the makings of dinner and head over to Mom’s apartment on the water. It was a glorious day so we knew the sunset was going to be spectacular. This week it is really Sunday Night Dinner at Mom’s Place.

view from mom's apartment small.sunset at mom's place small

Dennis and I spent part of the weekend over on Vancouver Island because I had agreed
to do a presentation on the healthy way to live gluten-free in Parksville on
Saturday morning.   After my presentation, we decided to drive up to Comox to visit some friends we hadn’t seen for a long time.    We had a lovely visit and talked about what we’ve been up to for the past two years and then we got onto the conversation about Sunday Night Dinner at Julia’s Place.  I hadn’t thought much about what I was going to make this week, but the ideas started to surface that seafood might be a good fit.    On the east coast of Vancouver Island north of Nanaimo, oyster farming is a good source of income for many people.  Fanny Bay Oysters are well known around the world and as we drove up to Comox we drove by several of these farms.    I knew I didn’t want to make oysters but scallops and shrimp are also very fresh around that area and I knew I had some small portobello mushrooms in the fridge at home.    I decided I would stuff the portobello mushrooms with seafood as the main part of our meal.

Sunday morning when I looked in the fridge along with the mushrooms, I found asparagus, small yellow potatoes,  a part of a very large beet and a few cherry tomatoes, which meant I didn’t have to go shopping at all to make our dinner.   The vegetables I would roast and I thought it would be a challenge to make a recipe for the seafood stuffing with ingredients I had on hand.    The end result was very tasty although I will give you an updated version of the recipe based on our taste test.

I prepared everything at home and packed it up along with the dog (Moxie for those of you who haven’t met her, is a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel) and we headed over to Mom’s.   Moxie settled in as usual as soon as we got there.

Moxie at mom's small

Moxie

With the potatoes and tomatoes in the oven we sat down to a Sunday Night cocktail to catch up on what had taken place over the past week.   It was quite a week for all of us and there was lots to talk about.   I’ll save the details for another day…

There were only three of us for dinner this Sunday but the recipe I’m providing is for four.  You can adjust is as required, and I believe this would work well stuffed in smaller mushrooms for an appetizer:

Shrimp and Scallop stuffed mushrooms

  • 4 oz scallops
  • 4 oz shrimp
  • 1 small shallot, finely chopped
  • 2 Tbsp. red/yellow sweet pepper, finely chopped
  • ½ stalk celery, finely chopped
  • Dash of salt
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp. lemon zest
  • ½ tsp. dried dill
  • Pinch of dried red pepper flakes
  • ½ cup crumbled chevre cheese (you can add more for a more creamy taste)
  • 1 Tbsp. parsley, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp. grated parmesan cheese
  • 2 Tbsp. toasted pine nuts

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven at 375 degrees
  2. Finely chop the scallops and shrimp and place in a bowl.  Add the finely chopped shallot, red or yellow pepper, celery, dash of salt, lemon juice and zest and dill.  Stir until the ingredients are well mixed.
  3. Add the chevre cheese, red pepper flakes and parsley, and stir until it is well mixed with the other ingredients.
  4. Wash the portobello mushrooms and pat them dry.  Cut off the stem/stalk and make sure the surface to be stuffed is clean and even.   Place the mushrooms on a greased rimmed cookie sheet. (It needs a rim because there will be juice that comes off when they are baking).
  5. Take the stuffing and put a healthy spoonful into each mushroom.  Sprinkle with pine nuts and parmesan cheese and place in the oven for 20 minutes.

seafood stuffed mushrooms before going into the oven small

This photo was taken before the mushrooms went into the oven.

The meal consisted of a wonderful selection of vegetables and one or two mushrooms each.

Sunday night dinner at mom's place 031713 small

I love roasted tomatoes done with a bit of garlic and either coconut oil or olive oil.  They become very sweet and flavourful after being roasted and they are extremely healthy.

Dessert was a bit of an experiment.  I was going to make vanilla orange yogurt and serve it with some fresh fruit, but when I was in the store, I saw some “cultured coconut milk” and thought I’d give it a try.  Dennis is lactose intolerant but he does not seem to react to goat’s milk, cheese or yogurt, so I’m always looking for something that is tasty but not cow’s milk.

cultured coconut milk small

To be honest, I would not buy this again.   It tasted artificial and had an unpleasant texture to it.    I doctored it up to make it palatable, but I would not do it again…just saying…

After thinking about this week’s dinner I would say it did not have the “wow” factor Sunday Night Dinner’s usually do but it was good.  I believe with the changes I’ve made to the seafood stuffing that it would be excellent to serve to guests should they be invited for a light dinner at your place.   As usual the company and ambiance of dinner was wonderful and I welcome you to come back next week for Sunday Night Dinner at Julia’s Place.

About Julia

I am an RHN who's passionate about helping people live their best lives. My focus is on body mind and spirit and I guide people on work life balance and holistic nutrition. Join me as I wind my way through this wonderful world we live in.
This entry was posted in Gluten-free, Nutrition, Recipes and ideas, Sunday night Dinner with Julia, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

